1812 Twitter War Pre-planning!

(This Post is a class requirement for History 9832b Interactive Exhibit Design)

This week I started to pre-plan for the scale model I intend to build for our final project in 9832b.  Although I spent a good part of my career drawing, I opted to do a mock-up with found images on the internet and a little Illustrator.  I find from a creative perspective, doing something like this art-board helps to rapidly prototype the types of images I would want to use and defines placement and even construction issues.

One of the immediate issues is what type of base is needed to keep this rather tall and somewhat heaving looking object upright.  Additionally, where do the flag poles go and how do we hide the mechanical aspects of the raising the flag?  Also, how do we remotely trigger the Arduino?  By a laptop or a WiFi module and where do I put it?  So many questions!

My next task is to start researching how Twitter can trigger Ardunio. Once and if I can master that task, I’ll take a swing at having Arduino drive a mechanical pulley.  Keep tune because I’m heading into the rabbit hole!

 

Leave a Reply

